h1

Favorites

December 5, 2008

For your viewing enjoyment, a few of my favorite things from Wrath (so far):

wowscrnshot_112008_222308-1-1Taking Control of Things
Anytime I got to take control of anything mechanical – siege tanks, harpoons, giants, flying machines, etc.  I was lovin’ life.  I especially loved ALL of the quests when I got to ride on whatever Humanoid type creature I was controlling or helping…it got to be like a game of “Where’s Boomba?”  Sometimes I was sitting on their shoulder like some demented Rogue conscious, sometimes riding in their hand (glad I never got squished!), or on their head like a hobbit and an Ent…it was awesome!

With these few small changes, it felt like a new game to me while I was leveling up.  Quests were fun and fresh and you never knew if controlling a Giant was right around the corner.  I also felt that the UI to take control of things was simple, clean and very easy to use.

Favorite Quests
There were a few quests that calmed my Starbucks induced whirlwind of leveling and caused me to pause long enough to enjoy them.

-Wrathgate cut scene…zomg Bolvar!   And the following quest that goes to Undercity.
-Becoming a hawk and finding the eggs on the cliff face was great.
-Using the spear and chain to jump from your dragon to your enemy’s dragon, fight him, then throw him off the dragon.
-Fighting the dudes while standing on the wing of Brann Bronzebeard’s plane and the following scene with Muradin and Magni.
-Becoming one of those crazy blue chicks in Storm Peaks and watching them run…hilarity ensued.  (Don’t they run like those old people who speed walk in the malls?  Or is it just me?)

As mentioned above:  anytime I got to ride anything or take control of anything – uber fun!
-Saving villagers from the scourge.
-Seeing Gryan Stoutmantle again.
-Fighting with my Future Self.  Fighting with my Past Self.
-Fighting my Inner Turmoil – lol.
-Ampitheater of Anguish – LOVE the cheering!  So epic!

Well Done, Blizzard!
All in all, I think Blizzard did a great job with making the grind from 70-80 enjoyable.  My favorite zone (looks wise) has to be a tie between Howling Fjord and Crystalsong Forest.  The music in the Fjord is the best.  Dalaran is really well done and feels a lot more like a city to me.  The names of the shops, the things you can buy (OMG TOYSTORE & PETSTORE FTW) and the design of the shops is so awesome.

My least favorite zone is definitely Grizzly Hills.  The landscape and the quests were both just not jiving with me.  It has a lot of potential to be such a cool little zone, but I was bored out of my mind by the time we finished the achievement and hightailed it out of there.

“Phasing” is so cool.  I know that people constantly complain about the screaming when you swing through Fordragon Hold, but I think it’s cool that someone who hasn’t done the Wrathgate quest line can’t see the fire or hear the screaming and I can.  I haven’t done but five quests in Icecrown, but I’m hoping there is more phasing out there.

Leave a Reply

