h1

How to Disc…better?

June 3, 2009

Sometimes I wonder if I’m Disc Priesting “wrong”.

I’ve spent a lot of time during the last few days trudging through what little information is available online (from good sources, that is) regarding spell usage and Disc Priests.

I rely heavily on Penance, PW: S, PoM (or ProM whatever we’re calling Prayer of Mending these days) and Flash Heal.Ā  Sometimes I’ll throw a renew on a DPS, but my task in Ulduar 10 is to keep the Main Tank in the fight and healed as long as possible.Ā  šŸ˜€Ā  I’ve created macros for both Pain Suppression and Power Infusion that are pretty cool – they whisper their target and let them know that they’re the recipient of either a delicious DPS haste boost (tastes like the shattered dreams of Horde Warlocks – yum!) or a decrease to incoming damage boost (this one tastes like Oatmeal Cream pies.)

The information that I’ve been finding online is all over the place as far as the advice goes.Ā  It seems like each site has theorycrafting (I’m a math spaz, never should’ve passed 6th grade math so the number side of theorycrafting makes me go cross-eyed :P) to back up their claims of the “best way” to play PVE Disc spec.

One site claims that if you’re not spamming flash heals that you are a total noobcake due to procs that are triggered when a Disc Priest crits.Ā  Another site threatens to send a Panda to your house to eat off your face* if you’re not Greater Healing as your go-to heal.

When I Disco (and especially when I heal my tank in Ulduar) I rely more on Penance than anything else.Ā  Penance is a great spell…it crits rather often, puts a 3 stack of Grace on the tank, triggers Divine Aegis…all the good stuff.Ā  I have glyphed Penance, which decreases the cooldown of the spell from 8 seconds to 6.Ā  Bananas!Ā  Flash Heals are great to toss if I have to move out of the badness on the floor or to toss on a DPS who’d rather stand in the fire drooling than move to save their life.Ā  When all my haste buffs proc, my CD for Flash Heal is down to .851 seconds.

I’ve changed my gear around a little bit.Ā  In a 10 man raid (depending on group composition) my stats are usually:

23k Mana
10.5% Haste
30% Crit
2200 Spellpower

I’ve read that Disc shouldn’t bother gearing for haste at all – since our abilities proc haste buffs, but I’ve swapped in and out a lot of the gear I’ve collected and I can absolutely tell a difference if I’m below 10% haste.

Recently, we did Emalon successfully, then went to Auriaya in Ulduar 10.Ā  I checked out my WWS Stats for that night and it looks like they break down like this:

Penance – 38%
PoM – 19%
Flash Heal – 16%
Glyphed PW:S – 10%
Renew – 7%
G Heal – 5%

Buffs and Debuffs on MT :

Renewed Hope: 16%
Inspiration: 13%
Grace: 12%
Divine Aegis: 3%

Weakened Soul: 13%

I’m very surprised at my Weakened Soul and G PW:S numbers.Ā  I really thought those percentages would be higher as I’m typically rolling shields on both the MT and OT during all boss fights/attempts.Ā  As soon as Weakened Soul expires, I’m applying a new bubble to both of them – as long as proximity to the OT and mana allows.

I’ll be keeping an eye on the PlusHeal Forums and my WWS stats to try to improve in any way I can.

*Ok that part about the Panda is not true…but due to the nature of the flaming that happens on most WoW forum posts, I don’t think it’s that far of a stretch.

8 comments

  1. Okay so far it sounds good to me. I too am disc on my priest and LOVE it. It sounds to me like you’re doing it correctly.

    Bubbles, bubbles, and more bubbles! Penance is your greater heal. So you should really only be useing Gheal if Penance is on cooldown and you need something more than Flash Heal, plus crits from Gheal create super yummy bubbles! But even so, I tend to just spam flash heals until the next penance is ready.

    I tend to go more with the school of thought that flash heal for crits are the way to go as well. Divine Aegis and inspiration are great bonuses to those flash heals.

    If you asked me (keep in mind I raid very little though, mostly roics), I think it sounds like your’e doing disc correctly–or at least the same way I figured to disc. šŸ˜€


    • @Troutwort: Thanks for the feedback! I’m glad to hear that I’m on the right track. šŸ˜€ I knew nothing about Disc until I just spec’ed that way and it was kind of a sink or swim situation. I love Disc now. Holy was getting way too easy to keep my attention. Disc is fun and challenging.


      • That’s basically what I felt too. Holy just didn’t do it for me. Disc was exciting, there was lots going on all those procs and bubbles. I love when I cast out a Prayer of Healing and like 4 bubbles go up, even if the bubbles aren’t needed, they are fun graphically. šŸ˜€


      • @Troutwort: Agreed! I love the bubbles, so cool. šŸ™‚


  2. Yeah right. Ok eough on the brainy theory stuff. Ummm could you pleeeeeeease heal the raid. And if DPS stands in fire. Heal them anyway.
    jk.
    luv u


    • @Luriann: Oh Luriann. You are a cheeky monkey. šŸ™‚


  3. You style of playing Disc is exactly the same as mine and i’ve found it to work fine. Spamming FH is a low priority as as Penance, PW:S and PoM are all more useful.

    I never use Greater Heal anymore in either healing spec.

    The CD for FH can’t go below 1s I believe. Cast time probably can get to 0.851 though.

    Your stats are pretty much the same as mine also. I prefer crit to haste for Disc.

    LOL just realised the related posts are all mine šŸ™‚

    I just discovered you blog and it looks good. I’ve added it to my feed reader (both you blogs actually). Are you going to continue with Alliance Girl? Or just this one?

    Gobble gobble.


    • @BobTurkey: Thanks for the reply. I’m not going to continue with AllianceGirl…just Boombaloo. šŸ˜€ I’ll be adding your blog as well. Thanks for stopping by!



Leave a Reply

